Critical Confabulations

a theatre, film & pop culture review

Oscar 2010 Predictions: Preface

The red carpet is rolling out, the over-coiffed starlets are gettin’ their sequin on, and Mickey Rourke is still trying to decide which special pair of Ray-Bans to don.

It’s Oscars time, y’all!

On Sunday, March 7th, we can giddily anticipate these star-studded showdowns:

CHILDS VS. TUOHY

NAZI-KILLIN’ RENEGADES VS.
GRAVITY-CHALLENGED SENIOR ‘TOONS

BURMESE POLITICAL PROTESTERS VS. DEFENSELESS DOLPHINS

ROMULANS VS. ROYALTY

INDIAN SLAVES VS. TARANTINTOESQUE TENANTS

COMPUTER-GENERATED FANTASY WORDS VS. WASHED-OUT VICTORIAN ARTSINESS

CAMERON VS. BIGELOW

It’s the most wonderful time of the year! The anticipation! The surprises! The tears! The dashed dreams! James Cameron’s douchey acceptance speeches!

With the Big Event looming in only t-8 days, and fighting off my over-exhaustion from viewing everything (yes, I’ll watch Transformers – no, I won’t like it – and Il Divo – what? You’ve never heard of it? – in the upcoming days), I begin to offer you my predictions, my favorites, and my commentary on the films that made me so angry/bored that I desperately wanted to slit my own wrists or violently throttle the necks of the writers/directors/performers. Taking a cue from the Awards ceremony, I’ll work my way up to the Big Categories, posting a new set of predictions each day this week, and finally posting the Best Actor/Actress/Director/Picture next weekend.

And so: let the race begin!

HOORAY FOR HOLLYWOOD!

2 comments on “Oscar 2010 Predictions: Preface

  1. Aaron
    February 27, 2010

    What did you think of that Young Victoria business?

    Like

    • Julie
      March 2, 2010

      I thought it was fine, nothing exceptional. I wasn’t bored, I wasn’t thrilled, but I was fairly entertained by all the prettiness and above-average performances.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 27, 2010 by in Award Predictions, Oscar-Nominated and tagged .

Archives

Categories

